Putting Down Roots

Texas-Oak-With-Bluebonnets-300x161I am one of the those people that likes to put down roots. I don’t like change and I don’t like surprises. I like to be prepared for the future.

We’ve been in Austin for 3.5 years, and I know that change is coming eventually.

When we left school in Utah, we agreed that we would follow Mr. Spreadsheet’s job wherever it took us. We knew that life would be an adventure!

But the uncertainty of not knowing where we will go next gets to me.  I want to know what comes next, I want to control the future. And I want to stay here.

In my mind, we are like the oak trees I see everywhere in Austin. We are strong, and deeply rooted to this place, Austin is as much a part of us as we are of it (though let’s be honest, by Austin I mean the suburbs of Austin).

I love Texas. I wholeheartedly admit that I wasn’t born here, but I got here as quick as I could. I didn’t love, or even like Texas when we first arrived. That first year in Dallas was HARD! I spent most of the time wishing we could take the next Delta flight back to Salt Lake City. But the second year was easier, and from then on we’ve loved it…except maybe not the summers as much.

Can I admit that the prospect of eventually leaving Texas, at some undermined point in the future (seriously it could be a decade from now) makes me want to throw up. I want to stay! We have been blessed with good friends and neighbors, a safe community, good schools, and a beautiful home. Leaving, even for somewhere where the summer is livable, makes me queasy.

I want to know what comes next.

I don’t need to start the adventure, I just want to know where we will go. Will it be Indiana, Ohio, the Carolinas, or Florida? Or will it be here? Will the adventure be that we get to stay and raise our kids right where we are?

Until we know the answer, I’m going to trust that someone with more information has a plan for us. I’m going to continue to put down roots, try and stop worrying about what comes next, and attempt to enjoy this adventure.

Leave a Reply

